BackTrack 4 is Debian/Ubuntu-based!

Of course, while I’m in the middle of writing about nUbuntu and singing its praises for being based on Ubuntu (I discovered this fact using methods of rocket science), I find out the beta release of BackTrack 4 comes along with some fantastic changes.

What to like about BackTrack 4:

  • Gone are its SLAX roots: BackTrack is now based on Ubuntu, which means…
    • Stability
    • Familiarity for Debian-philes such as myself
    • Many available packages in the repos; easy customization
    • Active and strong code base
  • Remote-Exploit will be maintaining BackTrack repositories with package updates following Ubuntu’s–so your tools will be current.
  • It will be easier to replace KDE with whatever you like

If you ask me, I’d be a lot more interested in running BackTrack full time, either partitioned or virtual, considering the above. Dual-booting Ubuntu and Fedora 10 for a little while now has made me realize that I’m simply the most comfortable in a Debian system, Ubuntu or otherwise. I need apt, Synaptic, and the sprawling repositories. I need the flexibility. I also enjoy how reliable Debian is and I’ve become spoiled by it…

Synaptic in BackTrack 4 (beta):

Synaptic is included–it’s just hiding! You know the drill, just run it from a terminal window or the mini command line on the task bar. Welcome to the joy that is Debian/Ubuntu repositories and the rest of the BackTrack goodies. Keeping your kit up to date is as easy as sudo apt-get upgrade. Synaptic helps you find the tools you want even faster with the repositories in sections like ‘BackTrack – Bruteforce,’ ‘BackTrack – Fuzzers,’ and so on. Pretty cool.

Starting up and testing it out

After logging in as ‘root’ with password ‘toor,’ remember to run “/etc/init.d/networking start” to get things set up before “startx.” I was a bit confused at first–just expecting things to function like BT3. My experience so far has been that BT4 is markedly different compared to past releases.

Both wired and wireless networking function on my Asus Eee 701 4G.  I now carry BT4 on a 2GB Kingston DataTraveller in my pocket and it has really grown on me. In contrast to BT3, I now rarely start X. And it’s not because I’m afraid of the looks I’d get with those Mortal Kombat startup/shutdown sounds! Maybe that’s part of it… To test out package management the first time I used BT4, I went through Synaptic and installed a full Xfce desktop. I could get used to a BackTrack/Xfce combination.

5 responses to “BackTrack 4 is Debian/Ubuntu-based!

  1. Cool, the new backtrack was the best what i ervery see.
    i found a good site too.
    The have a install instruktion and a pdf that you can download.
    look here:

    http://backtrack.1rss.de

    i think the screenshots is very god and the install works fine for me.

    cu and a god day

  2. o0o..
    now backtrack is based on ubuntu..
    i see..
    thanks

  3. Slackware is very stable your ‘stability’ reason is very very very clouded.

  4. Thanks for your response! I apologize if I implied that basing BackTrack on a Debian system would make it somehow more stable than before. I wouldn’t argue that Debian is more stable than Slackware–I’d be a moron. I do think that a Debian-base is a good stable base, and that is why I felt it necessary to mention stability. Thank you again for your comments,

    Matt

  5. Hello there :)

    I would like your help in two issues. The version of Nessus in BT4 is very old (2.2) and the most recent is 4.2, but when I go to nessus’ webpage, I need to select the version of Ubuntu. Which version is used by BT4?

    The second question is how do I install BT4 in a 2GB pen?

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

